Monday, August 17, 2015

American director Brian De Palma will receive the Venice International Film Festival’s Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker 2015 Award

This year, the great American director Brian De Palma will receive the Venice International Film Festival’s Jaeger-LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker 2015 Award, dedicated to personalities who have made particularly original contributions to contemporary cinema.

The award will be given to Brian De Palma on September 9that 9.30 p.m. in the Sala Grande (Palazzo del Cinema) during the 72nd Venice International Film Festival(September 2-12, 2015), directed by Alberto Barbera and organized by the Biennale chaired by Paolo Baratta.
Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso engraved, Glory to the Filmmaker 2015 Award
Following the award ceremony, the 72nd Film Festival will present the world premiere, Out of Competition, of the documentary De Palma (109’) by Noah Baumbach and Jake Paltrow. This major award consolidates the important bond between the Venice Film Festival and Brian De Palma, who has presented seven movies at the Lido, the first time forty years ago with Sisters in the section Proposte di nuovi film (1975).

In 1981, De Palma screened Blow Out in the section Mezzogiorno/Mezzanotte; in 1987, The Untouchables, an out-of competition Special Event; in 1992, Raising Cain, the closing film in competition; in 2006,The Black Dahlia, the opening film in competition; in 2007, Redacted, in competition and the winner of the Silver Lion; and in 2012, Passion, in competition.

Born in 1940, Brian De Palma studied film in New York. In 1963, he directed The Wedding Party, giving twenty-year-old Robert De Niro his first part. Carrie, a movie starring Sissy Spacek and based on the Stephen King novel, was his first big success.

To date, De Palma has directed over 30 films, including The Untouchables (1987) with Robert De Niro, Kevin Costner and Sean Connery; Mission Impossible (1996) with Tom Cruise; and Scarface (1983) with Al Pacino. Over the years, De Palma has directed stars such as John Travolta, Melanie Griffith, Tom Hanks and Sean Penn. He is particularly famous for his psychological thrillers, which feature his personal style, unusual camera angles and elements that often recall works by the directors who have influenced him, in particular Alfred Hitchcock.

Among the great actors Brian De Palma has directed, three have received Oscar nominations: Sissy Spacek (best actress, Carrie), Piper Laurie (best supporting actress, Carrie) and Sean Connery (best supporting actor, The Untouchables), who received the Oscar for his performance.

Jaeger-LeCoultre’s affinity with the 7th Art is all about two worlds infused with the same creative effervescence, inspired by a longstanding tradition and the absolute quest for excellence. Jaeger-LeCoultre supports all those who daily contribute to create and bring life to the art of filmmaking, and attaches great importance to the preservation of its heritage.

Official partner of the Venice International Film Festival for over a decade, Jaeger LeCoultre annually confers the Glory to the Filmmaker Award on a filmmaker chosen by the director of the festival.

Since April 2013, as part of its partnership with the Film Society of Lincoln Center in New York, Jaeger-LeCoultre has launched the Filmmaker in Residence Program, an initiative which supports a filmmaker in the realisation of his future projects. On the occasion of the Shanghai International Film Festival, Jaeger-LeCoultre works to protect the Chinese cinematographic heritage by funding the restoration of old movies. Also sponsor of the films festivals of San Sebastian, Toronto and Los Angeles, Jaeger LeCoultre is committed to supporting cinema in all its diversity by standing behind the camera, alongside the artists.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts