Monday, June 6, 2016

Jaeger-LeCoultre, principal sponsor of the 22nd LA film festival, presents Maryse Alberti with its Glory to the Filmmaker Award

For the third year, Jaeger-LeCoultre presented its Jaeger -LeCoultre Glory to the Filmmaker Award at the 22nd LA Film Festival paying tribute to a filmmaker who has brought great innovation to contemporary cinema.

This year’s recipient is multi award- winning French cinematographer and artist Maryse Alberti whose work is lauded for its technical elegance, grit and beauty. She is one of the most notable female cinematographers in the United States. Currently, Maryse Alberti is lensing Collateral Beauty starring Will Smith, Kate Winslet, Helen Mirren, Keira Knightley and Edward Nort on. Last year, she shot M. Night Shyamalan’s film The Visit; followed by Lionsgate’s Freeheld starring Julianne Moore, Ellen Page and Steve Carell, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival ; and Ryan Coogler’s Rocky re- boot Creed starring Academy Award nominee Sylvester Stallone and Michael B. Jordan. Previous recipients of the Glory to the Filmmaker Award included filmmaker Lisa Cholodenko and producer Gale Anne Hurd.
A panel discussion moderated by cinematographer Patti Lee followed the event on June 4th including esteemed cinematographers Joan Churchill, Amy Vincent, Tami Reiker and Mandy Walker and honoree Maryse Alberti.

As the principal sponsor of the festival, Jaeger -LeCoultre celebrated on June 1st the Opening Night and World Premiere of Ricardo de Montreuil’s Lowriders. The film, produced by Academy Award® winner Brian Grazer ( A Beautiful Mind, 8 Mile, American Gangster) and Oscar® nominee® and Emmy Award winner J ason Blum (Whiplash, The Gift, HBO’s The Normal Heart), stars Eva Longoria, Demián Bichir, Melissa Benoist, Theo Rossi, Tony Revolori and Gabriel Chavarria.

The 2016 LA Film Festival, which has its headquarters at the ArcLight Culver City, includes a diverse slate of 56 feature films, 58 short films and 13 short episodic works representing 28 countries. This year’s Guest Director is Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station, Creed) and the Spirit of Independence Award Recipient is Ava DuVernay (Selma, Middle of Nowhere). On June 9th, 2016, Jonás Cuarón’s Desierto starring Gael García Bernal, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Alondra Hildalgo and Diego Cataño will close the 22nd edition of the Festival on June 9th, 2016 .

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Blog

Popular Posts